Exhibition Categories

> Past Images of the Month

> Music and graphic design

> Music for children

> Ballet

> Music and social history

> Social Dance: Tickets, invitations and posters

Past Images of the Month - March 2012

Previous | Next

< Return to list

Ariadne auf Naxos. First edition of the libretto. Berlin & Paris, 1912.

Ariadne auf Naxos. First edition of the libretto. Berlin & Paris, 1912.

[View All Images]

THREE IMPORTANT FIRST PERFORMANCES 1912 : Daphnis et Chloé, Pierrot Lunaire and Ariadne auf Naxos

MAURICE RAVEL : Daphnis et Chloé. Ballet in 3 scenes by Michel Fokine. First performed Paris, Théâtre du Châtelet, 8 June 1912 (Diaghilev season). Conductor : Pierre Monteux. Choreographer : Michel Fokine. Designer : Leon Bakst.
Daphnis : Vaslav Nijinsky
Chloé : Tamara Karsavina
Dorcon : Adolph Bolm

(Please click the thumbnails below to view larger image)

Daphnis et ChloƩ. First edition of the piano score. Paris, [1912].

ARNOLD SCHOENBERG : Dreimal sieben Gedichte aus Albert Girauds Pierrot Lunaire. (Melodramen.) First performed Berlin, Choralion-Saal, 16 October 1912.  Conductor : Schoenberg.
Reciter : Albertine Zehme
Piano : Eduard Steuermann
Violin/Viola : Jakob Maliniak
Cello : Hans Kindler
Flute/Piccolo : H.W.de Vries
Clarinet/Bass Clarinet : K Essberger

Pierrot Lunaire. First edition of the miniature score. Vienna & Leipzig, 1914.

RICHARD STRAUSS : Ariadne auf Naxos. Opera in one act by Hugo von Hofmannsthal, to be performed after Molière's Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme. First performed Stuttgart, Hoftheater (Kleines Haus), 25 October 1912. Conductor : Strauss. Producer : Max Reinhardt. Designer : Ernst Stern
Ariadne : Maria Jeritza
Bacchus : Hermann Jadlowker
Zerbinetta : Margarethe Siems
Six months after the première the play and opera were performed in London in an English translation by W. Somerset Maugham (Her Majesty's Theatre, 27 May 1913; conductor Sir Thomas Beecham).
The second version (Vienna, 4 October 1916) replaces the play (and its incidental music) with a new operatic prologue, this being the form in which the work is almost invariably performed today. However some distinguished commentators (including Beecham) have continued to argue for the superiority of the 1912 original.

Ariadne auf Naxos. First edition of the arrangement for piano solo. Berlin & Paris, 1912.