Home Page

Preserving and Exploring our Musical Heritage

Exhibition Categories

> Past Exhibitions of the Month

> Music and graphic design

> Music for children

> Ballet

> Music and social history

> Social Dance: Tickets, invitations and posters

Past Exhibition of the Month - March 2015

Previous | Next

< Return to list

Carl Goldmark. Lithograph by E. Fontana, [c.1880].

Carl Goldmark. Lithograph by E. Fontana, [c.1880].

[View All Images]

GOLDMARK, Carl (Karoly, Karl) (b.Keszthely, 18 May 1830; d.Vienna, 2 January 1915)

Goldmark, the centenary of whose death fell on 2 January, was one of the 20 children of a small-town Jewish cantor in Hungary and his early years were marked by exceptional struggle and determination.  Even on the violin, his first instrument, he was unable to take lessons until the age of eleven.  As a composer he was almost entirely self-taught, and only became established after settling permanently in Vienna at the age of 30.

His works include six operas, two symphonies and ten large-scale chamber works, though only the violin concerto and the Rustic Wedding symphony are performed at all frequently today.  The second edition of Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians (1904-1910) reflected contemporary opinion in stating, "Goldmark's main characteristics are his complete mastery over every kind of musical effect, his wealth of melodic invention and skill in manipulating his themes."  His own assessment was "Unable to be a pioneer and unwilling to be a fellow traveller, I went my own way."

Goldmark's first opera, Die Königin von Saba (Vienna, 10 March 1875, with Amalie Materna as the Queen of Sheba) enjoyed international success, reaching its 100th performance in both Vienna and Budapest in 1897.  It was performed in English by the Carl Rosa Opera Company in Manchester and London in 1910.  Two later operas have libretti derived from English literature: Das Heimchen am Herd (Vienna, 1896; based on Dickens's The Cricket on the Hearth) and Ein Wintermärchen (Vienna, 2 January 1908; based on Shakespeare's A Winter's Tale).  However only the first of these achieved a UK performance (in English, Brixton Theatre, London, 23 November 1900.)

We show here a selection of first or early editions of some of his most popular works.

(Please click the thumbnails below to view larger image)

Suite für Pianoforte und Violine, Op.11.  Mainz, [1869]. Ouverture de Sakuntala, Op.13. Nouvelle édition. [Piano arrangement]. Paris, [1875?].  Sir Henry Wood's copy. Royal Academy of Music, London. Sonate für Pianoforte und Violine, Op.25. Mainz, [1875].

Ländliche Hochzeit. Symphonie in 5 Sätzen, Op.26. [Full score]. Mainz, [1876].

Die Königin von Saba, Op.27.   Festlicher Einzugs-Marsch. [Full score]. Hamburg, [1876].  This was the first number of the work to be heard in public.  It was performed at the Gesellschaft für Musikfreunde on 11 January 1874 in a concert in which Liszt and Brahms took part.

The Queen of Saba, Op.27. [Vocal score with English text]. Hamburg, 1881.  Sir Henry Wood's copy. Royal Academy of Music, London.  Wood's notes on casting and timing appear to relate to a projected performance which never took place.  English censorship forbad stage representation of Old Testament characters until the early twentieth century.

Trio für Pianoforte, Violine und Violoncell, Op.33. Bremen, [1880]. Im Frühling. Ouverture für Orchester, Op.36.  [Full score]. Mainz, [1889].

Das Heimchen am Herd. [Vocal score]. Leipzig & Vienna, 1896. Carl Goldmark.  After a photograph by J Löwy, Vienna.  Supplement to Die Musik, Vol.II, No.8, (1902).

We are grateful to the Royal Academy of Music, London, for permitting the inclusion of two items from Sir Henry Wood's former library.